Oregon state law mandates that workers in certain professions must make reports to the Department of Human Services (DHS) or local law enforcement when he/she has "reasonable cause to believe" that any child with whom he/she comes in contact with has suffered abuse, or that any person with whom he/she comes in contact has abused a child.
Mandatory Reporting of Child Abuse
Effective January 1, 2013, amendments to the Oregon law (419B.005-050) will include employees of higher education institutions as “school employees” required to be mandatory reporters. This legal obligation applies 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, even outside of work time and in any location. The DHS web site provides a list of phone numbers for reporting by Oregon counties.
In addition, Chemeketa Policy #2470 requires all college employees, including student employees, to report any of these incidents to the President's Office, executive dean, or the Human Resources Director when the incident is in any way connected to Chemeketa. This requirement applies to cases of abuse that allegedly occur on campus/property, or on property owned or leased by the college, or while members of the faculty, staff, or student body are participating in a college connected activity off campus. Reporting to the college does not satisfy the legal duty to report to DHS or local law enforcement.
If someone is being hurt or is in danger right now, call 911 immediately.
Oregon Department of Human Resources (DHS) Training
- General Information on Abuse and Neglect
- The Role of Mandatory Reporting (video)
- Mandatory Reporting Phone Numbers
- Child Abuse Publications and Reports (downloadable)